Deathwing Terminators – CC Squad

This is my recently completed squad of close combat Terminators. All parts are from the close combat Terminator set, with a Dark Angels icon for the sergeant from the Ravenwing Bikers set. The heads were gathered from various Ravenwing, Veteran and Space Marine boxed sets.

       I decided to paint these models together rather than individually, as although it can seem a weary process, the outcome is a completed squad all finished at the same time. I elected to use Lightning Claws for the entire squad rather than mixing and matching weapon choices, as for gaming purposes twin Lightning Claws provide an extra attack, which can amount to a total of 4 attacks per Terminator when charging (2 basic, 1 extra for claws, 1 extra for charging). Other than these parts, I approached the boxed set knowing that I didn’t want to add extra accessories to show that these are Dark Angels units, but portray the honourable role of Deathwing on the models themselves with colours and markings.

       I began by undercoating the models with Scorched Brown in their individual pieces. I wanted to paint the models separately as to avoid marking a completely glued model with a stray brush stroke. Although this technique is sometimes risky as post-paint glueing can dry awkwardly, I prefer to touch up any mistakes than miss out on detail under hard to reach corners and angles. My first base colour on top of the undercoat was Kommando khaki, which I painted 2/3 layers on to the armour pieces to give a strong bone colour. I elected for this to be my armour’s colour rather than Bleached Bone which I have noticed to be the most commonly accepted colour for the Deathwing as the Khaki gives a duller more death-like tone.

       After painting the armour’s base colour, I applied an Adeptus Battlegrey base to all metal bits (as I’m sure you can tell I’m not too fond of metallic colours, preferring the quieter tones provided whilst highlighting). Wires were based with Dark Angels Green and Scab Red, respectively. Seals were based Graveyard Earth, whilst the seal wax was based with Scab Red, as well as any lights and motion detectors.

       I elected to apply a strong highlight to the armours edges with Dheneb Stone foundation paint, Codex Grey on top of the Adeptus Battlegrey, Desert yellow over the seals, and a 2:1 mix of Scab red and Blood Red, and Catachan Green over the Dark Angels Green. The faces were now drybrushed with Tallarn Flesh foundation paint, and I’m sure you have noticed the lack of helmets on my squad, and this is due to the fact that most Veterans Sergeants do not wear helmets, so I felt it neccessary to portray the fact that Deathwing Terminators are all Veterans and would therefore go to battle with their helmets off.

       A further highlight of Fortress Grey was drybrushed over the Codex Grey, and Camo Green over the Catachan Green. A straight highlight of Blood Red was drybrushed over the red areas, and the seals were given a 2:1 mixed highlight of Kommando Khaki and Skull White. The face was then drybrushed with Elf Flesh, making sure to leave the darker tones in the recesses and wrinkles. A gentle highlight of pure Skull White was drybrushed on to the armour’s edges.

       A final highlight of Skull White picked out details such as teeth, eyes, flesh, and sharp edges of the model. To finish I gave the Sergeant his Dark Angels icon, and slowly added a pupil in each of his eyes for further detail. The bases were given the usual Graveyard Earth undercoat, Kommando Khaki drybrush, followed by Bleached Bone highlights to complete my squad before glueing the finished pieces together and touching up any glue problems.

       Hope you enjoyed reading my painting guidelines and message me with any concerns/comments/queries!

All the best, 73rd.

13 thoughts on “Deathwing Terminators – CC Squad”

  1. Cracking work – such a crisp, clear paint job!

    I look forward to more of the same, and thanks for swinging by my pages…please consider yourself linked, Sir.

    – Drax

  2. Thanks Drax, very nice of you to say! And thank you very much for the link, I will return the favour:)

    All the best,

    73rd

  3. AND THE NIDS COME ROLLING ON. YOU WILL RUN OUT OF AMMO, STILL WE COME ON,YOU WILL TIRE , YOUR LIMBS WILL ACHE WITH THE EXERTION OF SWINGING YOUR FAKE LITTLE CLAWS. THE EMPORER WILL DROWN IN THE BLOOD OF HIS SONS. THE NIDS ADVANCE, THE NIDS INFEST, THE NIDS OBLITERATE ALL IN THEIR PATH.

    ANYWAY NICE MODELS BUD CANT WAIT TO SEE THEM ALL FACE DOWN. IT WILL BE A SAD SAD DAY, BUT THE NIDS ROLL ON.

  4. I’m normally against killing bugs… I think it’s wrong to kill them just because all they do is buzz about and land on food. But for your Tyranids I am going to personally sculpt a small can of RAID and give it to one of my Terminators for two reasons… the first is that it’s the only humane way to put a bad bug down, and the second is that its a lot cheaper than paying for thousands of storm bolter bullets to waste on wave after wave of gaunts!

    Better bring some tissue for your tears and to wipe the green blood from my boots!

Leave a Reply

