Making A Necron Resurrection Pool

Hi All,

I recently realised that if you put aside the Necron Pyramid and Obelisk, there really isn’t much Necron scenery out there, so I sat down and began to sketch a few ideas of my own. I thought about Necrons, and how they phase out to a tomb when damaged/destroyed, where the Tomb Spyders will do their repairs and prepare them to fight again. Whilst thinking about this, I imagined what would happen on a large scale, if Tomb Spyders were run off their feet – pardon the insectoid pun – and how the Necrons would battle this prospect. In came the Resurrection Pool; a place for injured Necrons to respawn after phasing out and re-enter the battle, giving limitless reinforcements!

The tutorial below will show you how I went about putting together my Necron Resurrection Pool from start to finish.

First things first, I had to decide on a size for the piece of scenery, and took in to account that I wanted it to be capable enough to release dozens of warriors from its depths, and decided on a length of 22cm (L) by 16cm (W). I took a thin piece of MDF board, and cut the rectangle with a jig-saw:

My next step was to put together some foam to create the walls. I was lucky enough to find a piece of foam with corners, and simply measured the distances, before cutting the foam in to pieces to fit perfectly around the board. This will vary depending on the type of foam available to you, but once the pieces are cut, fit them temporarily with cocktail sticks to test the positions and see how they fit around the MDF board:

Once I was happy with the positions, I began to engrave Necron runes on to the sides of the individual pieces using a hobby drill and a sanding-needle:

My next step was to glue the pieces of foam together, using PVA glue. I’m sure most of you know not to use superglue and foam together, as the resulting mess isn’t too attractive! Once glued in place, give the PVA glue a few hours to dry. I left it for 2 hours in my room with a fan blowing air on to it which sped up the drying process. Once glued together it should look something like this:

Once I had the foam together, I had to find a filler for the inside of the piece to spare as much PVA glue as possible. I used a piece of pink foam I had laying around the house, and cut its measurements using the thin MDF board from earlier as a guide:

I then glued the black foam to the board using PVA glue to fill in any holes and gaps in the joints:

I didn’t need to wait for this round of glue to dry as the pre-cut pink foam was going to cover it, so I placed it ontop of the MDF board, and within the walls of the black foam:

I thought that the pool would look empty without the addition of a Necron rock or two, so carved two shapes out of the pink foam I had left over. I stuck them on cocktail sticks to prepare them for painting:

I then began painting, first covering the pink foam inside the walls with Chaos Black. I then base-coated the two rocks and the black foam walls Dark Angels green, before adding a drybrush of Camo Green, and then Goblin Green. Golden yellow was painted on the most extreme edges of the rocks to represent the power within them. I wanted the runes to stand out as if they were glowing so I based them with Goblin Green, followed by a Scorpion Green drybrush, and then a Sunburst Yellow highlight. A final highlight of Skull White was painted very carefully at certain points within the runes. After waiting 30 minutes for drying, I glued the two rocks onto the black painted foam symmetrically as if they were power cores:

I’d previously had some guidance from Ron over at http://fromthewarp.blogspot.com on water effects and how best to use them, including making ripples, which I created with some green stuff around the edges of the pool to represent a build up of energy. I decided to adopt some PVA glue as the soon to be liquid metal of the pool. I mixed the PVA glue 3 parts to 1 with water, to allow the mixture to sink into all recesses. The green stuff around the edges also played the part of a barrier to block any escaping liquid from seeping out of the model. I then poured the mixture into the centre of the piece and helped it spread evenly before leaving it to dry for about 24 hours by an open window:

Once the glue dried, I began painting it. First with a basecoat of Boltgun Metal, then a wash of Badab Black Ink. I then highlighted with Boltgun Metal, Chainmail, and finally Mithril Silver. I also modelled two spare Necron warriors to look as though they were climbing out of the Resurrection pool to join a battle and lay waste to the unlucky victims:

I hope you all enjoyed this tutorial, and as usual any comments or questions please feel free to leave a message!

16 thoughts on “Making A Necron Resurrection Pool”

  1. Looks good, I like the ruins carved in the sides of the walls and the two power cores in the middle of the pool.

    The liquid metal came out pretty good, was the end result what you thought it would be? I’m tempted to try to build something similar myself.

  2. Hey Ron,

    thanks mate,

    I was hoping that the liquid metal would have a bit more of a shine to it, but I can always add varnish! Apart from that it all went to plan. Give or take a few minor leakages courtesy of PVA glue and water!

  3. Nicely done. 🙂 It’s very creative, I like the out-of-the-box thinking used to put this together because you’re right: outside of the pyramid and obelisk, there’s nothing “canon” for terrain.

  4. Hey Darksol,

    any expansion on Necron terrain is a good thing in my books! thanks for the nice comment buddy. I’m hoping that this is the first of many new projects!

  5. just strarted colectin necrons and i was lookin to make some scenary and i thinking about makin this and a massive battle ground!!!!! any tips

  6. You have so many options with Necron scenery, as they are so ancient it wouldn’t be wierd to see them popping out of sand, dirt, jungle, or even rubble. The main thing that I think you should keep in mind is the immense power that revolves around any Necron structures or anything they may come in to contact with. I tried to show this by creating a glowing effect from the symbols on the scenery I completed above, but this could be transferred on to any scenery you create. It’s so simple to design as you can just use various shapes of polystyrene which is very easy to get hold of these days! A main thing would be to ensure that any edges of Necron terrain are smooth and clean, unlike what I did above. That’s one thing I’d change about the piece I made. Shiny, new looking, deeply coloured, like black with a green hue, or green with a yellowish hue always looks good for Necron scenery. As for a board, I think golden sands look really good against the deep colours of Necron terrain as it’s a really amazing contrast and the terrain itself can look as if it has just woken up and come to life above the surface. Good luck with making it and I hope this little info helped!

  7. yes it was awesome i loved it to bits (of metal) and i think i might try to make it, but isnt the foam a tad soft for scenery??

    1. This isn’t the regular type of foam – it’s more like insulation that’s put in to walls and buildings. It’s strong enough to snap rather than bend

Leave a Reply

