Dreadnought Detail

Dreadnought Detail

Hi all,

After finishing my Dark Angels Dreadnought recently, I decided to pay it another visit. Now I wasn’t sure what needed changing, but I was sure about the fact that I hadn’t included as much detail on this model as I have done with the majority of my other models. So to add further detail, I attempted to paint a free-hand Dark Angels symbol using an excellent tutorial from Ron over at From the Warp. The break in the sword works on two levels, firstly it is a neccessary part of the model so I couldn’t avoid it, and secondly it can now allow me to represent the model as a standard Dreadnought as well as a Venerable Dreadnought, complete with the broken sword of the Deathwing! Check the pic for my end result. It took me about 25 minutes to complete in total which is a great amount of time if you ever want to go back and add a few details to your models. With the flash on, the paint appears shiny which it isn’t as all the colours are painted with a matte effect, so  I will try and work on a better picture, but any feedback is appreciated for my first attempt!

Thanks for stopping by!

4 thoughts on “Dreadnought Detail”

  1. Thanks very much Drax.

    It is definately a very useful tutorial and really doesn’t take very long to complete!

  2. Wow, this is sweet. I’m still anticipate eagerly for my dreadnaught to arrive and can’t wait to start on my marine projects too! Love those freehand! Keep up the good work, can’t wait to see it more of it!

    1. Thanks very much for the compliments mate! I have just finished a freehand Iron Halo for my Razorback, will post pics later this week. I will be paying close attention to your Space Marine projects, if they are anything like your Tau I’m sure it they will all be amazing!

      Thanks for stopping by

Leave a Reply

